IV

I think I see you sometimes like a dream; fading through dissipating skeins
Of consciousness with that trembling terrible mortal gleam, quavering lingeringly –
Like miles of last receding rays at dusk scurrying back over long darkling seas and planes.
We share many things about us: things like lying in silence on the sofa by the wide window,
Rolling to a precious pause in the still day with the bare blue sky stretching outside.

Like watching films and time pass, being intimate in our souls. I never saw your large dark eyes
So clearly, sternly mesmerising, as when I looked into them each day in memories and hopes;
The steady celestial silhouettes of distant mountain ridges drawing me on into the next minute.
Through soft translucent veils I feel your imprint of a gaze as I make the tea each morning.
Watching through your watching as I cycle wildly daily down long leaf-strewn tracks to trains by traffic.

As I step into the water you step too. That could be your hand on mine as my heart slows,
I think of shopping for vegetables and your favorite juice, saving for the rent, betting on baseball,
Soup when I was ill and our sweet aggravating cat you mainly hated – and my mind goes.
Wrenching tearing waiting holds me here: immobilised with shock or pain or summer rain
Which flows from grieving fissures in hysterical torrents as though it will never stop.

About SKYDEA CLOUD

Current affairs, controversialities, politics and poetry: thinking about issues and questions facing the world today.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

